Rana describes preamble of constitution as cornerstone of Indian democracy

JAMMU, Jan 26: Provincial President National Conference Mr Devender Singh Rana today described preamble of constitution as cornerstone of the Indian democracy and urged the people to strive for further strengthening democratic foundations and secular ethos of the country.

“Unity in diversity is biggest strength of India, which is needed to be further promoted and sustained by forging amity and harmony between various segments of society”, Mr Rana said after hoisting tricolour on the 71st Republic Day at Sher-e-Kashmir Bhavan here this morning.

Mr Rana said this auspicious occasion reminds us of our crucial responsibilities of preserving the idea of India that stands for unity, amity, equality and social justice. These cherished characteristics can be preserved by upholding the highest values of democratic ethos, which has withstood test of times despite numerous challenges. He reiterated the commitment of National Conference to strengthen bonds of brotherhood and restoration of lasting peace in Jammu and Kashmir.

Stressing the need for initiation of genuine political activities in Jammu and Kashmir, the Provincial President sought release of all the detained mainstream leaders including the three former chief ministers. This is all the more imperative to fill the political vacuum created by continued detention of leaders for over five and half months now, he added.

Mr Rana greeted the people on the auspicious occasion and hoped that they will strive for steering Jammu and Kashmir to a new era of peace, progress and prosperity. 

“Let’s renew our pledge to make India a strong and vibrant nation in the comity of nations”, Mr Rana added.

Those present on the occasion included senior leaders Mr Ajay Kumar Sadhotra, Mr Rattan Lal Gupta, Sheikh Bashir Ahmed,  Mr Abdul Gani Malik,  Th. Kashmir Singh, Babu  Rampal, Mr Brij Mohan Sharma, Haji  Mohd Hussain, Mr Bushan Lal Bhat, Mrs Bimla Luthra, Dr. Chaman Lal, Mrs Vijay Laxmi Dutta, Mrs Satwant Kour Dogra, Mr Vijay Lochan, Mr Abdul Gani Teli, Mr Jugal Mahajan, Mr Gurdeep Singh Sasan, Ch. Haroon, Dr. Gagan Bhagat, Mrs Swarn Latta,  Mr Pardeep Bali, Mr Chander Mohan Sharma, Mrs Rita Gupta, Mrs Rashida Begum, Mr Tarshem Khullar,  Mr Nar Singh, Mr Som Nath Khajuria,  Mr Som Raj Taroch,  Col Rashid, Sardar Balwinder Singh, Sardar Parvinder Singh, Mrs Puspa Dogra,  Mr Rajiv Mahajan, S.Tejinder Singh, S. Gurnam Singh, Mr Nitish Goswami, Mrs Ranjeet Kour Khalsa (Pinky), S. Davinder, Singh, Mr Balwan Singh, Mrs Raj Kour, Mr Riyaz Ahmed Hakala, Mrs Hasina Begum, Mr Imtiaz Ahmed and others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *