Four Municipal wards, two villages declared ”red zone” in Jammu to check Covid-19 spread

JAMMU, May 25: Four Municipal Wards and two villages in Jammu district have been declared as ”red zones” to prevent the spread of COVID-19 infection, authorities said on Monday.
An order issued by District Magistrate, Jammu, Sushma Chouhan said that Municipal Ward No 48 of Gurkha Nagar falling under Police Station Bahu Fort while Municipal Ward Nos 52, 53 and 54 of Trikua Nagar and villages Kalyanpur and Channi Mawallian falling under Police Station Kanachak have been declared as red zones to prevent the spread of coronavirus.
Using his powers under the Disaster Management Act 2005, the DM has said that the stringent action to declare the villages as a ”red zone” had become necessary to check further spread of the virus.
The order implies that there would be no movement of any kind from or into the villages declared as red zone.
All the residents have to stay indoors as the authorities will ensure adequate supplies of essential commodities to the villagers.
The order will remain in force till it is revoked.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *