Batwal Community celebrates Republic Day 2020 with great zeal


JAMMU, Jan 26: The Jammu and Kashmir Batwal Welfare Association celebrated the 71st Republic Day at Village Bhadrore with tremendous enthusiasm, zeal and fervor.

 Association President Subedar Major (Retd) hoisted the National Flag. Slogans like Bharat Mata Ki Jai and Mera Bharat Mahaan were raised to show solidarity, brotherhood and unity of the country.

Most of the attendees were Govt. employees and retired defence personnel who had witnessed a series of incidents in the history of India’s freedom struggle, attainment of independence, and eventually the formation of Indian Constitution, making India a republic.

Eminent among Batwal Community members, Mr R.L.Kaith said even though India obtained freedom on August 15, 1947, Indian Constitution came into effect only on January 26, 1950. King George VI, the last and only “King” of the modern India, was leading our state during the evolution period from 1947 to 1950. Lord Mountbatten and C. Rajagopalachari were serving as the Governors-General of India at that time. Afterwards Rajendra Prasad was elected as the first President of India on January 26, 1950. With this, the Parliament officially approved the Constitution of India and declared itself as a “Republic” on January 26, 1950, a date thereafter is celebrated every year as Republic Day in India.

Ex Naib Sarpanch Ram Lal Lakhotra spoke to the attendees about the sanctity of the occasion and the role played by the Constitution makers with particular reference to Bharat Ratna Dr B.R. Ambedkar.

Mr Ramesh Kumar Kaith said that India became democratic country after a long struggle and sacrificing great dignities of the country. On this occasion we should salute them and maintain brotherhood, communal harmony among ourselves at any cost.

Association President Subedar Major (Retd) Romesh Sargotra urged all community members to draw inspiration from the sacrifices made by Shaheed Bhagat Singh, Neta Ji Subhas Chandra Bose, Chandra Shaekhar Azad, Sukhdev, Rajguru and a number of other brave freedom fighters and strive to reinforce the unity and integrity of the nation which is need of the our.

Others who spoke on the occasion included Hony Captain Om Parkash Tugga, Hony Captain Kamal Chand Motan, Hony Captain Darbari Lal Sargotra, Hony Captain Kamal Dass Kaith, Ex Subedar Major Thoru Ram Mandi, Ex Subedar Major Gunni Ram Kaith, Ex Subedar Baldev Chand Sandhu, Ex Subedar Kaku Ram Kaith, Ex Subedar Narayan Dass Bassa, Ex Naib Subedar Rashpal Chand Bassa, Ex Niab Subedar Subash Chand Nandan, Ex Havildar Boxer Mast Ram Kaith, Ex Havildar Des Raj Kaith, Ex Havildar Uttam Chand Sandhu, Ex Naib Sarpanch Som Nath Tugga, Ex Panch Bishan Lal Motan, Kamal Singh Kaith, Gurdas Chand Sargotra, Mela Ram Tugga, Om Parkash Sargotra, Bua Ditta Kaith, Tilak Raj Bassa, Mahesh Bhardwaj, Ramesh Lal Motan, Bodh Raj Lakhotra, Rashpal Chand Lakhotra and Bhushan Kaith.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *